Assembly Polls 2021: Mamata Banerjee leads TMC to big win in West Bengal

Fighting the anti-incumbency wave in the state, two-time Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee on Sunday led the Trinamool Congress to another big win in the state assembly elections.

Banerjee herself suffered a shock defeat in a tight contest for the Nandigram assembly seat. But the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) which she leads will retain power in West Bengal.

According to the final Election Commission of India (ECI) figures after the votes were counted on Sunday, AITC won 213 of the state’s 294 assembly seats. The BJP finished with 77 seats.

Belying expectations of a close contest between the ruling Trinamool Congress and PM Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Banerjee’s All India Trinamool Congress’s (AITC) tally went well past the majority mark of 147 seats in the 294-member assembly.

The keenly-awaited assembly elections in West Bengal were held over eight rounds from March 27-April 29.

By winning the elections, TMC headed by two-time Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has scored score a hat-trick. The BJP which had left no stone unturned to make sure that the lotus (the party's election symbol) blooms in the state, came a distant second but emerged as the principal opposition party in the state.

The Left Front, which was the primary opposition earlier, has been decimated and has not won a single seat in the state assembly.

The Left Front had the CPI-M and Congress entering into a seat-sharing arrangement, and the ‘Sanyukta Morcha’ or the Allied Front had also aligned with Furfura Sharif’s influential cleric-led Indian Secular Front.